Texas LTC Certification Course
Effekt Personal Defense offers the Texas LTC course for $100. This will include the classroom instruction as well as the shooting qualification on a shooting range.
(Student is expected to show up proficient in firearm handling and shooting – there is no ‘instructional portion’ in the standard course – please see our other courses for training.)
We also offer a more comprehensive combo course: TX LTC (4-5 hours) + Introduction to Defensive Focus Shooting (3-4 hours). Read about the combo course HERE.
The State of Texas has adopted legislation that allows its law abiding citizens to carry concealed handguns for self protection. Obtaining a License to Carry for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 4 to 6 hour certification course which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers topics on the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and Texas laws pertaining to use of force as a defense, licensing requirements and laws regulating license to carry holders.
To obtain a License to Carry in the State of Texas you must complete the minimum 4 to 6 hour course, qualify with a handgun in accordance with the DPS course of fire (student is expected to show up proficient in firearm handling and shooting – there is no ‘instructional portion’ in the standard course – please see our other courses for training), and pass a 25 question exam. A student must then apply to the state and pay the current fees and undergo a complete background check for the state to issue a license. There is currently no requirement as to which order an applicant must follow regarding class and online application. The entire process requires the completion of both. Either may be completed before the other.
Applicants may complete their State of Texas Online Application which includes all application questions, affidavits, and payment arrangements. Fingerprints may then be obtained at the Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas provider location after the application has been completed and payment received online. The completed application checklist, along with the required proficiency certificate (CHL-100) issued by our instructor can then be returned to the DPS (along with two passport style photos and the CHL-6 signature page if you do not have a Texas Driver’s License), to complete the application process.
If you have questions pertaining to your already submitted application, please contact the DPS LTC Division directly:
P.S. Here is a Step by Step guide on obtaining your Texas LTC.